Prognostication is my business: Week 1 in the 2012 NFL

Well I certainly don’t like to be wrong, but I’m starting this week off 0-1. The Giants went out on Wednesday and looked like, well the world Champions from last season as only they can. They lost another game they should have one and looked awful doing so. Such is life for fans of Big Blue. Let’s move past that. It’s time to turn on sports again. The Yanks, G-men, Mets and Sox all look fairly equally pitiful right now so how about Gang Green, the Bills and Pats?

New England Patriots (-5.5) at Tennessee Titans

This is a no-brainer. When pro bowl quarterbacks face non pro bowl quarterbacks they win something like 80% of the time. It’s that simple in this game. Bill Belichick and Mr. Brady are never satisfied and will be on a mission this season to show the league that they are the best team in football. And the Titans are starting Jake Locker? Well he might put up some numbers against the porous secondary, but ask Chad Henne how it feels to get into a shootout with the Pats week one. It’s like riding a horse and buggy in a NASCAR race.

Buffalo Bills at New York Jets (-3)

Even as I write this I have no clue how this game will go. Buffalo dropped both their games to Gang Green last season and they really weren’t close in the first meeting and the second time we saw Steve Johnson being Steve Johnson. I have to go with Buffalo because of the way they seem to start the season when they feel confident. I foresee a tough low-scoring and boring affair, but hey anything is better than watching the Yankees this week. I’m thinking somewhere in the area of 17-13. The difference will be a Mark Sanchez interception, which I hate to say because the last thing I want is for the Jets’ backup to take his job. Now I’m reconsidering. Phil and I picked the same teams and last season he resorted to coin flips… should I pick the Jets? Maybe he knew I’d read his post and switch to them. Well played sir. So I’ll pick Rex… Fitz… ummmm. Yes the Bills. Buffalo get ready to start the hype machine another 1-0 start is in your future.

-Erik

Will I redeem myself today? Even if I don’t I’m ready for Sundays on the couch. Let me know what you think via our twitter (@seeuinoctober) or leave us a comment.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Prognostication is my business: Week 1 in the 2012 NFL

  1. Adam says:

    Well, I watched this game… As many people did… And from fumbles and turnovers I was thoroughly amused! Plus where did the othe third of Rex Ryan go? Kudos to that guy

  2. I was pretty impressed by the Jets, but I think I was more disappointed with the Bills who looked like a college team playing the pros.

Leave a Reply

